Spread the love

Kolkata, 8th January, 2024: West Bengal Garment Manufacturers and Dealers Association, having completed its glorious 58 years of dedicated service to garments sector in our State organized the 55th Garment Fair and B2B Expo spread over three days (8th 9th & 10th January 2024) at Eco Park Fairgrounds, Kolkata. The 55th Garment Buyers & Sellers Meet & B2B Expo where 900 National and International brands would participate and is expected to generate Rs. 850-900 Crore business transactions at the wholesale deals.

Considering the importance of this endeavor of the Association in developing the State economy, the event was attended by the State Government and the leading business houses. The event was inaugurated by Sri. Sujit Bose, Minister of State for Fire, Govt. of WB. The event was also graced by the presence of other eminent personalities like: Sri. Nirmal Jain, Founder, Evergreen Hosiery Industry; Sri. Hari Kishan Rathi, President of WBGMDA; Sri. Vijay Kariwala, Senior Vice President of WBGMDA; Sri. Pradeep Murarka, Vice President of WBGMDA; Sri. Devendra Baid, Hony. Secretary of WBGMDA; Sri. D Mitra, Joint Director, MSME-DFO, Kolkata and several other well-known personalities.

This association has been organizing garment fairs and B2B Exhibitions since its inception to develop a modern, vibrant and competitive garment industry, mainly MSMEs, and enable the country to develop into a strong hub in the global textile supply chain. A non-retail event, WBGMDA – Buyer Sellers Meet has become a meeting place for the most popular and trusted companies in the eastern part of the country. This event also has its impact in creating huge jobs and supporting the GDP to a great extent.

On this occasion, Sri. Hari Kishan Rathi, President of West Bengal Garment Manufacturers & Dealers Association stated, “The immense support that we have received throughout the years has been phenomenal, our predecessors of the industry have laid pathways where we can move forward and happily follow their footsteps and create new opportunities for the new generation.”

Speaking about the event, Sri. Devendra Baid, Hony. Secretary of West Bengal Garment Manufacturers & Dealers Association said, “The buyers and sellers meetings organized by our association have achieved continuous success throughout five decades of doing business in the eastern part of the country. This is the biggest Readymade Garment Meet Eastern India. Despite unpredictable economic situations and the ups and downs in the Industry, this gathering has only grown and has provided the best support to the readymade garment industry in this region. Our Meet has been approved by the department of MSME, making our meet first of its kind in this sector.”

About WBGMDA: West Bengal Garment Manufacturers and Traders Association is a leading organization representing the ready-made garment industry and trade in East India. Established in 1962, the association provides specialized services in this field for the development of ready-made garment industry. We are associated with Bharat Chamber of Commerce. The Association has a democratic structure governed by a core committee, committee members and co-opted members who work relentlessly for the betterment of the organisation and its 500+ members. The association organises Garment Buyers and Sellers Meet twice a year, conducts seminars, helps members understand government decisions and policies, organizes blood donation, health checkups and helps settle arbitration matters. Celebrates Holi and Diwali with its members and patrons with cultural functions.

Other key committee members present at West Bengal Garment Manufacturers and Traders Association were: Sri Kanhiyalal Lakhotia, Treasurer, Sri Prem Kumar Sinhal, Jt. Treasurer, Sri Amarchand Jain, Sri Tarun Kumar Jhajharia, Sri Ashish Jhawar, Sri Manish Rathi, Sri Kamlesh Kedia, Sri Manish Agarwal, Sri Kishore Kumar Gulgulia, Sri Vikram Singh Baid, Sri Sourav Chandak, Sri Saket Khandelwal, Sri Ajay Sultania, Sri Rajiv Kedia, Sri Sandip Raja, Sri Brij Mohan Mundhra, Sri Bhuwan Arora, Sri Mohit Dugar – Executive Committee Members and Past Presidents Sri Hari Prasad Sharma and Sri Chand Mal Ladha.